Ten Indie-Published Books on My TBR Shelf in 2020

Last week, I made a commitment to read more indie-published fiction in 2020. I love my trad-pubbed psychological thrillers and fantasy, but there’s a massive list full of talented and creative self-published/indie authors I haven’t found time to dive into. I’m stoked to catch up on new releases from my favorite indies, but I’m also planning to use 2020 to explore new authors and add a few new favorites to the list.

In the meantime, here are ten indie-published books on my TBR shelf. 

Dreams of the Fae: Transcendence by Anna Patrick Paige 

Book cover black butterfly jewels

“I started dreaming the day I turned thirteen. An affliction that would get me killed if anyone discovered the secret.”
For four thousand years, the dreamers, known as the Fae, have been hunted down as dangerous aberrations, yet Princess Ayleth’s royal status has protected her from imprisonment.

On the evening of her eighteenth birthday, Ayleth’s illusions of safety disappear and she is forced to flee the palace before her ability to dream is discovered.

Alone and destitute, she meets the deranged and debonair Darric Ursygh—whose bloody history and violent tendencies could get her killed before she ever experiences life outside of royalty.

As Ayleth’s supernatural talents emerge and first love takes her heart, she will learn the ability to dream only scratches the surface of the Fae’s power, and why the world fears them. . .

Check it out on Amazon!

Eye of the Equifade: Strange Case Files by JA Stone 

Book cover space sci-fi two females swords

British Fey: Four feet of fighting prodigy and tactical savant, this pretty girl is a beast of a genius, a true predator, an ice-cold sociopath behind the big glassy browns of a lost puppy. British’s partner, Danica Warfell: A master swordsman with long platinum hair and a fleeting calm. Together they hunt serial killers marked by a powerful Spirit–the girl’s father.

Read it today!

Zane (Sin City Sanguines Book One) by Amanda Seabring 

Book cover sexy vampire bloody hands tattoos

“I’m a good vampire, Quinn. Not a good man. I can’t have it both ways, and neither can you.”

Forget everything you know about vampires.

They’re as mortal as you are. They’re born, they live, and they die as vampires. They eat, sleep, laugh, and bleed like you do. And when immortality isn’t an option, they have much, much more to lose.
Vampire coven master Zane Carus has been kidnapped. His old friend and former love, police captain Quinn Masterson, must find him and rescue him before his captors can carry out their demonic intentions. But pitting herself against every vampire, vampire hunter, and hybrid in Vegas is a deadly venture. When even her allies turn against her, she must take matters into her own hands to see her vampire safe again, even if it costs more than her life to save him.

Download a copy!

Slither (The Blood Tithe) by Hargrove Perth 

Book cover sexy woman leather pants gun full moon cityscape

2018 Author Academy Awards Semi-Finalist Sci-fi Dystopian
What if you were bitten and became something else?

As a hardened detective working as a Hunter for the Vampire Area Council, Gunnar Kyle will need all her experience as a former Green Beret to solve the case and stay one step ahead of the killer, all while trying to unravel what she’s becoming. A vaccine for the affected following the vampire plague offers new hope until a string of horrific murders by an unknown creature puts London on edge. In a hostile world filled with deadly creatures, physical attachments can not only be dangerous but deadly. Can Gunnar solve the case before time runs out, keeping Tamsin and Algernon safe from whatever is now hunting her?

Join the series now!

Souls of the Never by CJ Rutherford

YA Book cover blonde girl witch magic orb

What if one soul were so powerful, no single body could contain it?

Katheryne and Derren hold different halves of the same soul.

Katheryne, a 20-year-old from Belfast, Northern Ireland, has no clue she’s about to be drawn into a battle that will decide the future of all realities, as an ancient evil awakens and sets its sights on her.

Derren, a member of an elite cadre of warriors, faces a desperate race through time and alternate realities to find her…his true soul-mate. Because only together do they stand a chance against the growing darkness.

Grab a copy for only $0.99!

The Obsession of Father Riley (Novella) by Jane & GK Curry 

Book cover red church creepy woods horror

Blood runs in the streets of Devil’s Grove.

Due to the heinous nature of the string of murders being committed in the small town, Father Riley fears these are not the acts of man, but brought on by demonic possession.

Armed with ancient tomes on exorcism, Father Riley cannot perform the ritual unless he discovers the killer’s identity. After beseeching the Vatican for help, Father Riley’s patience grows thin as the body count continues to rise and his pleas go unanswered.

With the panicked townsfolk turning on each other, will The Church send help before Devil’s Grove tears itself apart? Or will Father Riley be left to battle the darkness alone?

Tell me more!

The Wrong Girl by C.J. Archer

The Wrong Girl book cover creepy house said girl dark dress victorian

It’s customary for Gothic romance novels to include a mysterious girl locked in the attic. Hannah Smith just wishes she wasn’t that girl. As a narcoleptic and the companion to an earl’s daughter with a strange affliction of her own, Hannah knows she’s lucky to have a roof over her head and food in her belly when so many orphans starve on the streets. Yet freedom is something Hannah longs for. She did not, however, want her freedom to arrive in the form of kidnapping.

Taken by handsome Jack Langley to a place known as Freak House, she finds herself under the same roof as a mad scientist, his niece, a mute servant and Jack, a fire starter with a mysterious past. They assure Hannah she is not a prisoner and that they want to help her. The problem is, they think she’s the earl’s daughter. What will they do when they discover they took the wrong girl?

Find Out Today!

The Perfect Wife by Blake Pierce 

Criminal profiler in training (and newlywed) Jessie Hunt, 29, discovers that dark secrets lurk in her new suburban town; when a body turns up dead, she finds herself caught in the crosshairs of her newfound friends, her husband’s secrets, her serial killer caseload—and the secrets of her own dark past.

In THE PERFECT WIFE (A Jessie Hunt Psychological Suspense Thriller—Book One), Criminal profiler-in-training Jessie Hunt is sure she’s finally put the darkness of her childhood behind her. She and her husband, Kyle, just moved from a cramped downtown Los Angeles apartment into a Westport Beach mansion. Kyle’s promotion has them swimming in money. And Jessie is on the verge of getting her Master’s degree in forensic psychology, the last step in her dream of becoming a criminal profiler.

But soon after their arrival, Jessie begins to notice a series of strange developments. The neighbors—and their au pairs—all seem to be hiding secrets. The mysterious yacht club Kyle is desperate to join is rife with cheating spouses, and with troubling rules of its own. And the notorious serial killer being held at the psychiatric hospital where Jessie is completing her degree seems to know more about her life than is normal—or safe.

As her world starts to unravel, Jessie begins to question everything around her—including her own sanity. Has she truly uncovered a disturbing conspiracy buried within a sunny, wealthy Southern California beach town? Does the mass murderer she’s studying really somehow know the origin of her private nightmares?

Or has her tortured past finally come back to claim her?

Download a copy today!

A Dozen Deadly Roses by Kathy Bennett

Book cover black and red rose in mist

A thrilling novel of stalking, kidnapping, and murder. For fans of Allison Brennan, D.K. Hood, and Debra Webb.

Los Angeles Police Officer Jade Donovan is being hunted. A psycho is stalking her—leaving dead roses at her door. Each gold-foil parcel is more descriptive, more terrifying than the previous threats. Her only hope is to figure out who wants to kill her before the intimidations become a reality. What about her four-year-old son? Is the stalker coming for him too? With threats inside and outside the police department, she has no one to trust. When a man from her past rejoins the LAPD and is assigned to work with her, Jade wonders if it’s more than a coincidence. Especially since the man can destroy her world.

Mac Stryker is a cop with something to prove. After losing his wife and daughter, he drowned his grief in whiskey. He’d been forced to resign the LAPD in disgrace when he was too drunk to take action during a shooting. Now sober, he’s rebuilding his life, and back on the police department working with the former rookie who, five years ago, saved him from death. Jade isn’t happy to see him, and Mac realizes her frosty attitude is more than the fact he almost got her killed. She’s hiding secrets, and he’s determined to discover them. But will the revelation of her shrouded troubles rock Mac’s tenuous hold on sobriety? And when the stalker makes his final and most deadly strike, will anyone survive?

Grab a copy for only $0.99!

Who are your favorite indie-published authors or book series? I’d love some new suggestions for 2020!

Join the Conversation!

%d bloggers like this: